Home Hall of Fame The Annual Dipsea
Race Dinner
the Steps
Future and
Contact Us

2015 Scholarship Application is now available, here as a PDF.

College Scholarships

$5,000 College Scholarships Announced By Dipsea Race Foundation

The Dipsea Race Foundation plans to award several $5,000 scholarships to students graduating from high school this year who have participated in or volunteer for the Annual Dipsea Race and are attending college this fall. Scholarship winners planning to enroll in a two year program will receive $2,500.

Financial need, the sincerity and quality of an essay, community service, leadership, athletic performance and academics are the criteria by which the candidates will be judged, and each category is weighed equally. Students who score high in all areas will be the likely winners. We want to encourage and support well-rounded individuals.

The 2014 Scholarship winners have been chosen. Congratulations to all!

Completed applications must be received by May 1, 2015.

The self-discipline required to train for a difficult cross country race and the sense of community responsibility that's demonstrated by volunteering to stage a local event are virtues that can be transferred to other aspects of life. That is why the Dipsea Race Foundation offers scholarships to outstanding young men and women who have participated in the Annual Dipsea Race and are residents in California.

As donations are received and the scholarship fund is increased, the board intends to widen the number of students who receive the grants and increase the size of the awards.

Previous Dipsea Scholarship winners:





Brad Hansen, Nicole Calmels


Matt Cover


Adam Greenfield, Bonnie Hanks


Brian Larson


Chris Johnson, Eva Gut


Margaux Joffe


Cameron Lochte, Nicole Fish


Elizabeth Gill, Simone Oppen


Lucy Gibbs, Grace Hunter, Robert Kuslits, Emma Oppen


Allie Lomax, John McGrath, Ian Randolph, Drew Thayer, Briana Van Epps


Gabrielle Joffe, Ford Nickels


Cody Chapman, Samantha Creath


Mark Berry, Reed Thayer


Max Perrey, Lily Spitz, Reed Bunnell, Vincent Fausone, Spencer Hall, Jamie Kent


Hannah Berman, William Cooney, Daniel Milechman, Rachel  Skokowski, Benjamin Vogensen


Nicole Amyx, Hannah Berman, Samantha Emory, Jack Fausone, Olivia Lloyd


John Lawson, Summer Lawson, Jax Reiff, Liam Vlaming


Bella Levaggi, Madelynn Perry, Mae Puckett, Heather Stickle

In 2005, friends and family of Wyby Mercer funded a $2,500 scholarship in his memory.

In 2011, an annual scholarship fund was established in the name of Bill Patterson - a great lover of the Dipsea. The fund is perpetual. The first scholarship in the amount of $5000 was awarded at the Dipsea Foundation Dinner in 2011.

The Dipsea Race Foundation Scholarship Committee


The Dipsea Race Foundation offers scholarships to outstanding young men and women who have participated in the Annual Dipsea Race, are residents of California, and are graduating high school seniors.  The Dipsea Race Foundation awards Dipsea Race participants – as runners or volunteers – because we believe that the self-discipline required to train for a difficult cross country-race and the sense of community service demonstrated by volunteering are virtues that can be transferred to other aspects of life.


The Scholarship Committee of the Dipsea Race Foundation awards scholarships based on a variety of criteria, including the applicant’s financial need, performance of community service, academic and athletic performance, Dipsea Race involvement as a race participant or volunteer, and the sincerity and quality of the personal essay.  The Committee encourages well-rounded individuals and seeks to support their continued development.


The Scholarship Committee reviews scholarship applications and reports back to the Board of Directors of the Dipsea Race Foundation.  The members of the Committee include Tim Fitzpatrick, Jason Cheng, Liebe Patterson, and Chuck Miller, who chairs the Scholarship Committee and also is a member of the Board of the Dipsea Race Foundation. 


Scholarship Committee Bios


Chuck Miller

Chuck Miller has been in private practice as a litigation attorney in San Francisco for over 40 years.  He has run the Dipsea and Double Dipsea races.  Chuck has been on the Dipsea Foundation Board as its legal advisor for many years and has enjoyed his role as a Board member in awarding scholarships and meeting the recipients at the annual Dipsea dinner.   He heads up the Scholarship Committee.  Chuck has undergraduate and law degrees from UC Berkeley. 


Elizabeth (Liebe) Patterson

Elizabeth (Liebe) Patterson is president of the Elizabeth R. and William J. Patterson Foundation. Liebe’s family has a long history with the Dipsea race and the trails on Mt. Tamalpais.  Liebe’s late husband, Bill Patterson, ran the Dipsea Race 14 times and also ran the double Dipsea.  Bill’s final Dipsea Race was the 100th Running of the Dipsea in 2010. He was the 99th runner to cross the finish line, just two months before a brain tumor took his life. To honor their husband and father, Liebe and her three children, Will, Ellie and Graham have all run the Dipsea race and have named their dog Dipsea.  Friends of Bill established a Dipsea scholarship in his honor to recognize young people who have shown grit and determination in the running of the Dipsea Race.  The Patterson family have all actively run, hiked and biked the trails on Mt. Tamalpais and are committed to the preservation of this very special and sacred mountain.


Jason Cheng

Jason Cheng is Director of Corporate Strategy at Kaiser Permanente.  Prior to joining, Jason was Vice President at Quorum Consulting, a boutique health care consultancy in San Francisco.  Jason has also served on the Board of Directors of The Imagine Bus Project, a Bay Area non-profit that provides visuals arts curriculum to underserved youth.  Jason received an MBA from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, and a Bachelor’s degree from the University of California at Berkeley.  Jason ran and completed the Dipsea for the first time in 2014, and plans to run in the coming years as well.


Tim Fitzpatrick  

27 years in investment banking. 1983 BA, Hobart College.  15 time Dipsea participant. Husband of two time Dipsea Champion, Diana Fitzpatrick.  Head Cross Country Coach-Marin Catholic High School, Assistant Track Coach MC High School (middle distance).   Co Race Director (with Diana) of Tamalpa Headlands 50K (USATF National Championship).  Former Board Member/Treasurer Mark Day School-San Rafael, Ca.  Four Time Western States 100 silver buckle winner, 2011 50-59 Age group winner.